How to spot a deal

June 4, 2010 § 1 Comment

Tis the season for those of us who are garage sale shoppers. The weather is warmer and it seems like everyone is cleaning out their basement, garage, attic and what-have -ya. The deals are just waiting to be found. I don’t do as much garage sale and Craig’s List shopping as I used to but I have learned how to spot a good design bargain.

These are the questions I ask myself. Do I need it? If not, is it amazing? Does it have  great lines, a timeless quality? Is it in good condition? Can I paint it black  or recover it to make it look amazing? What you don’t want is your own garage full of “finds” you don’t use or won’t update so I try to choose with my mental checklist.

Here are two used pieces I purchased recently  for under $40 that I love. I painted them black and reupholstered the bench seat. Please share some of  your finds.

Tagged: , ,

§ One Response to How to spot a deal

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading How to spot a deal at Idevolution's Blog.

meta

