Do you need a Design Coach?

March 11, 2010 § 5 Comments

I am adding a new line to my skill set which says “Design Coach” . I got the idea when reading about a Gardening Coach, and thinking I really needed one, someone who takes a look at your yard, helps you refine or create your plan or sort through options. You do all the labor.  Then it occurred to me that this is exactly what I do for several of my clients. I take a look at their space, we look at options, select some materials, colors, or design plans and  they do the labor, the painting, purchasing, installing.

It turns out coaching is not just for sports anymore. Coaching is becoming a verb that describes a variety of acts of helping someone to do it themselves, just doing it a little better with tips, ideas, or advice.

The dictionary defines coach as the verb meaning  “to give instruction or advice to in the capacity of a coach”. For many people in this D-I-Y society, folks just want the advice or instruction and they will do the actual work themselves. Sometimes even those who can do the labor and installation work need to bounce ideas off someone with a trained eye and experience, or they need help sorting through the hundreds of options and choices out there for color, finishes, and styles.

We have seen the growth of coaching in recent years with Life Coaches and Business Coaches (I predict there will more “consultants” becoming “coaches”. It sounds more approachable and more affordable.) So why not have a Design Coach, someone who can help you come up with your game plan, advise you on where and how to get what you need, to reach your goals? When you are ready for a “coaching session” I hope you will consider calling Id Evolution to reach your design and decorating goals.

Tagged: , ,

§ 5 Responses to Do you need a Design Coach?

  • Molly says:

    What a great idea!!! Do you think this can be done long distance from pictures or video?

  • Stacy says:

    Hi!
    Just wanted to let you know I got the email this time. Also, like the new background here and love the “Design Coach” idea.
    I think I need to be your first coaching client as I can’t afford to move right now but I am tired of my current furniture layout. Can you help me make some changes?
    Love,
    Your Sista!

  • Jennifer johannes says:

    I would like to consider having a design coach. Just moved into new house. Need help putting up my accessories and making a sports room.
    Thanks
    Jennifer

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Do you need a Design Coach? at Idevolution's Blog.

meta

